Library Card Policies

Library Card Policies
A patron must present a library card in good standing to borrow materials.  Your library card gives you access to more than 11 million materials in the PINES Library Network across Georgia.

Circulation Policy

Check Outs

Patrons can have up to 50 items checked out at one (1) time.
DVDs & Blu-rays are limited to 15 checked out at one (1) time.
Chromebooks are limited to one (1) per household.
PINES account holders can check out materials at any PINES partner library across the state.

Loan Periods
Books, Audiobooks, & CDs: 14 days, two (2) renewals.
DVDs & Blu-rays: 7 days, no renewal.

Passes: 7 days, one (1) renewal.
Zoo Atlanta DVD: 7 days, no renewal.
Chromebooks: 14 days, no renewal.

Renewals
Two (2) renewals are allowed on most items. Renewals can be done in person or online through PINES.
Items on hold for another user cannot be renewed.

Holds
Holds may be placed on items in collections of Thomas County Public Libraries or other PINES libraries.
Holds may not be placed on new items owned by other library systems until after six (6) months.
Holds may not be placed on Passes, Zoo Atlanta DVDs or Chromebooks.

Holds Shelf
Holds are kept on the Holds Shelf for seven (7) business days. If a patron does not pick up the item, the item is forwarded to the library location of the next person on the holds waiting list or returned to the original owning library. A new hold can be placed on the same item when the item has moved on to the next person on the holds list or the original owning library.

Returns
Books may be returned to any PINES partner library location.
Chromebooks must be returned into the library from which they were borrowed.
Please note: when dropping materials into a return box, they might not be checked in until the next day.

Overdue Fines and Fees
Books, Audiobooks, & CDs: $ .20/day
DVDs & Blu-rays: $ .50/day

Zoo Atlanta Passes: $ .20/day
Georgia State Park Passes: $ 3.00/day
Chromebooks: $5.00/day

A patron's card will be blocked from borrowing if the patron owes $10 or more in unpaid fines and/or fees.

Lost/Damaged Materials Fees
Lost/Damaged Materials Fees are applicable.

Lost Library Card
If your card is lost or stolen, report it to your local library immediately.  There is no fee to replace your card.

Subscribe to our newsletter.